HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: LGR

LGR - Interstate '76: Vehicular Combat Poetry [A Review]

6294 ratings | 220351 views
In an alternate 1976 where the oil crisis only got worse, you've got a funkadelic dystopia where people have strapped weapons to their vehicles and spout poetry. My kinda combat racing! ● Consider supporting LGR on Patreon: http://www.patreon.com/LazyGameReviews ● Social links: https://twitter.com/lazygamereviews http://www.facebook.com/LazyGameReviews Music used is from the I-76 soundtrack.
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (885)
Gabriel Dubé (10 hours ago)
Vigilante 8
Michael Spence (8 days ago)
The only real problem with the GOG release is they needed to code an fps limit of 30fps regardless of renderer.
piworower (8 days ago)
watch that shit cowboy
4thcoming (16 days ago)
Loved this.
isegrim1978 (23 days ago)
This brings back fond memories...
Jason Reddall (26 days ago)
Loved this game. Want to go buy it again now.
Are you kidding me? Interstate '76, a vehicular combat game made by activision. This is a prequel to Vigilante 8! i mean, even the characters has almost the same look!
LGR (27 days ago)
Well yeah, same developers!
Jamie Edwards (1 month ago)
Best game ever....All 3 interstate games were... Aka Supaheli
Low Light (1 month ago)
One of the few 10/10 games ever.
SolidSonicTH (1 month ago)
Huh...I was thinking this kinda looked like MechWarrior but thought that was just a sign of the times. Wasn't expecting to hear it uses the same engine.
Charles Dupain (1 month ago)
I swear I'm gonna learn how to use the Unreal Engine and make a remake of this game. Also Hi-Octane.
Lasertooth Tiger (1 month ago)
I dig it.
Couldn't find any reference to Vigilante 8, which i had vibes from all the way
forgedHALO (2 months ago)
A wave of nostalgia hit me when you were at the loadout screen. It's been so long...
Gamer Gone Retro (2 months ago)
i played this for hours!!!!! love it!
Tekk Luthor (3 months ago)
You know this game is really old because they use the arrow keys for direction not AWSD
brandino12332 (3 months ago)
Really reminds me of an early vigilante game
Skyrous (3 months ago)
This needs to be remade with the engine from the Mad Max game.
LHB GAMING (3 months ago)
Better than Fallout 76
Scobragon (3 months ago)
Yo, Vigilante 8 is a spinoff of Interstate '76? I did not know that.
Eric S (3 months ago)
Hands down one of the best games of the era. I had DSL through my college at the time and dominated the online play (the lava drop and rear firing mortar where one hell of a deadly combo).
Peter Hruska (3 months ago)
this game was pretty hard
kenthed45 (3 months ago)
Im surprised you didn't mention how this game takes a lot of notes from the classic, Steve Jackson's Car Wars. You can really tell from the game's initial premise, and the car statistics sheets when customizing your car.
Luis Mediavilla (3 months ago)
I still have dark reign I like the menus in interstate 76, the cards are cool
nottacop (3 months ago)
No Vigilante 8 review?
nottacop (3 months ago)
Interstate 76 was my favourite game for a long time. Interstate 82 sucked balls.
David G (3 months ago)
I dominated the online multiplayer for I'76. I went by Misery Machine, and was one of the best players in the world for a couple of years.
Nathan Binns (3 months ago)
This game is now older than 1976 was when it was first released
Serj (3 months ago)
I got a demo of this game when I was 7, it was epic :D
Sid C (3 months ago)
I'm so glad you did this review! This was a blast from the past. I remember getting a demo of this game in a magazine. Loved it ! This was one of the few vehicular action games at that time, and possibly the only one where you could load weapons on the cars! I think there was Twisted Metal for the Play station but on PC this might have been the only one those days... Cheers and best wishes Clint! Sid *Oops just saw the entire clip. I had forgotten about streets of sim city :)
Jaco Oosthuizen (3 months ago)
was such a cool game! cant believe i never finished it as a kid!
Leprechan (3 months ago)
I beta tested this game, good times
Heklezer (3 months ago)
I just love this game! I used to but the cd on player just To listen the music from it.
Socky Noob (3 months ago)
Better than Fallout 76
vin billion (3 months ago)
vigilante 8 is a spin off? i love that game and 2nd offense
Adam Noyce (3 months ago)
Needs a Reboot.
K 9 Poodle (3 months ago)
Fallout 76 older brother?
BADSPOCK (3 months ago)
The late 90s were the best time for games.
kristof (3 months ago)
I liked the period,but I like them now more.2005-2012 was pretty dark though (with some notable exceptions).
Looks much better and more fun than Fallout 76
Mongoosh (3 months ago)
i loved that game on my first pc
Greg Atlas (3 months ago)
This review has made me reconsider this game. When I was younger I thought the game looked annoying and uninteresting.
bombatomba77 (3 months ago)
Man, this game is something. For the longest time after I bought it I wasn't even able to install it (it would error out at the end), but I refused to return it to Babbages, even though I also really wanted Heavy Gear (and that box was awesome). I kept tweaking settings and retrying with every update, but nope. Totally worth it in the end.
Fernando G. Ramirez. (3 months ago)
Is good to know that one of my all time favorite games Vigilante 8 had its roots on this classic masterpiece. Saddens me to know the fact that vigilante 8 will probably never get ported to the current or next gen of consoles, nor it had the same amount of sequels as Twisted Metal had, which was a far inferior game.
Lerssinen (3 months ago)
now this is a game which gives me good memories and wibes !! It was still an "open world" as new as it was back then and i enjoyed it troughout the story.. A good story in a game is important as an gameplay itself and this had both ! a masterpiece.
PFG666 (3 months ago)
I finished the demo version of this game a gazillion times at a time when I couldn't afford original copies. A few years later, as I was walking down the video game isle, I came across its sequel, Interstate 82, which was being sold for cheap (10 Euros). Purchased it and since then I played it from start to finish about 4-5 times, and enjoyed it every time. In the sequel, you can also get out of your car and hijack other cars, which brings a new dimension. Anyway, it is the gameplay that sets this series apart. Here's hoping there will be a remastered version of this.
Wallipalloo (3 months ago)
What a fantastic review. This is one of those games that missed me growing up. I'd heard about it, read about it, but for some reason or another, never played it despite it sticking with me all those years. The review had me seriously pumped for the game. Then I heard "GOG," and lo and behold, it's on sale there for a paltry 2 bucks. Now *that's* poetry.
XH1927 (3 months ago)
It's funny you call the pistol a desperation weapon, it was actually the most OP thing in the game. The way the pistol worked was anything that had a green or yellow life bar was immune; once it was in the red, though, the pistol could finish the driver of the car off with impunity. Combine this with the fact that fire damage bypassed armor, and the fact that ANY damage to internal car systems, even something as inconsequential as a single tire, was interpreted by the game as putting that car in the red, and boom. I was a part of an I76 multiplayer gang that exploited this quirk of the game to use the pistol and napalm to do battle with the stream of cheaters who used hex editing to give their cars infinite armor and chassis reinforcement. I made a lot of friends out of that experience, and had a lot of great times as a member of the I76 online community. Many of those same people. along with myself, were invited to beta test Nitro Pack and the sequel, Interstate '82. A dubious honor, considering how that game turned out, but an honor nonetheless.This game's disc stayed in my car for years, even after the gang and I had moved on to other things. The music is just as good playing on the radio in a real car as it is in the game.
Indian 2080s (3 months ago)
Thanks For Refreshing My Childhood. I used to have demo of this game then played the full version of the game and realised how hard this game is I mean it was so realistic for it's own time (change in handling when your car gets too much damaged). Seriously This Was the Gta In 3d Back then.
Clever Kitsune (3 months ago)
Review interstate 82 pleeeeease
Fones R Phunny (3 months ago)
That first poem is so terrible. Wheels wear down constantly even while driving normally and you're not doing a lot of normal driving in this game. "Infinite" is really one of the worst ways to describe wheels in this game.
XH1927 (3 months ago)
Wheels don't wear at all, tires do. Go home, silly child.
Jarrett Coffin (4 months ago)
1:30 when to use each system, and when. Lol jk LGR the only screw up I’ve ever found in any of your vids keep up the good work
dcamozzato (4 months ago)
@LGR: if you line your car properly with the enemy, you can get a one shot kill with the pistol.
Juda (4 months ago)
This game brings back a lot of memories😍
The Dolphin Police (4 months ago)
There's a poetry button. That is some Suda51 shit.
Veglia Borletti (4 months ago)
82 was better
michaelkeha (4 months ago)
I have this game laying about somewhere at home.
Dan Mc (4 months ago)
Vigilante 8. BASS QUAKE
Dead Juice (4 months ago)
5:47 So fucking groovy, I love it. It's like Tarantino and Cowboy Bepop making out. Weird but stylish.
Daniel Nobre (4 months ago)
Such a unique game. It was great! And great review, thanks!
Jimmyqballs (4 months ago)
The pistol is the best thing in the game, you can kill the driver and keep the car in good condition so salvaged parts don't need to be repaired
only257 (5 months ago)
Cool❄️😈🤖👻😊☃😜😍💀🕹😂🌎🎱🕷
Cody Baker (5 months ago)
I like the FPS aspect, thats really unique in a vehicular combat game
Roni C. N64, Sixty Four (5 months ago)
Vigilante 8's Father
Rothschild killed JFK (6 months ago)
lol this game has better driving physics than any new NFS games
ArockTheRed (6 months ago)
video took me back way farther than i expected.
Chevy Camaro (6 months ago)
played the hell out of this. enough to break it during freebattle with more then 200 kills when it decided to froze. 🤣 with the Cuda and 4 guided missile lauchers almost everytime a one shot kill. yeah i know but i was like 6-7years old.
Alex Doležel (6 months ago)
This version works fine for me: https://uloz.to/!ohT1kESRH/interstate-76-for-windows-xp-7-8-and-later-rar
Roxfox (6 months ago)
Excellent review. I still get fuzzies from this game's style. Everything from the stylized characters that totally still hold up, to how all the menus look like real world objects. It's so good!
Chris Druitt (6 months ago)
I forgot all about this game until I stumbled across it on your channel. Such a fantastic game. Will have to track it down to play it again. Thanks for this video!!
Radio of Rwanda (7 months ago)
I want this on GOG so bad!
Radio of Rwanda (7 months ago)
OH SHIT! it is on there!
matt mill (7 months ago)
i miss this game so much sad face.
Subjektive Gaming (7 months ago)
Loved it! ...still do.
MMR (7 months ago)
This game was amazing back in the day, I remember being almost addicted to it due to how awesome the gameplay was (for its time)
sam newman (7 months ago)
this was such a good game and interstate 82 was such a terrible game :)
Adam T (7 months ago)
Dude, the “poem” button.
Ryan N (8 months ago)
I had the NiroPack. Played it religiously after school.
michael worona (8 months ago)
Nothing beats the well placed 45. Out the window
Ngamer834 (8 months ago)
I remember this as a kid and seeing how awesome the game looked on the box. I wouldn't say it was a great game but for it's time it was awesome driving those 70s cars and the environments were soo good for a 90s game.
DutchManticore (9 months ago)
Loved this as a kid
thebigt42 (9 months ago)
This is one of my all time favorite games....It begs for an update with modern gaming engines....But need to keep the same story line and game play.
BatCorkill (9 months ago)
I76 is in my top 5 games of all time.
Gakk 86 (9 months ago)
This game came with a video card I bought back in '97 or '98. I sucked ass at it, but I still loved it. Watch that shit, cowboy!
Ryan Commins (10 months ago)
This was my first online gaming experience. Wrecked fools all day with the winnebago equipped with Dr. Radar missiles. Most of the best weapons were radar based, but you dropped off of radar when you cut the engine with the S key. People always thought I was cheating because they didn't realize this. Love this game.
grimmriffer (10 months ago)
Using the pistol allowed you to kill a car's driver rather than blowing it up - yielding more salvage. It worked best when the target had already taken a good pasting, presumably trashing its armour.
wayek (10 months ago)
Yo, can you do a review on Nitro?? I also need to bring to attention that Nitro now has full router support (original I'76 still does not unfortunately) and a very active online community .. We host about 3 events a week. Check out the forums at interstate76.com for more details
Jamston Julian (10 months ago)
So that's what modern games are missing: 70s funk and instant poetry.
Carl Zimmerman (11 months ago)
This ain't right.....this really ain't right
Pine Martin (11 months ago)
this dude sounds like oxhorn
Stuart Will (1 year ago)
Love this episode dude! Really would like to see what you have to say on I 86 and V8.
Brazilian Soldier (1 year ago)
I played this game so much back in the day (and i still do, i bought a new copy on gog). The secret vehicles (tank, helicopter, ufo, even a hot air balloon) are awesome, lol
Cptsimian33 (1 year ago)
One of my most beloved gaming memories playing this :) ,,,,, thanks for the nostalgia hit and yeah ..... do NOLF !
The Rolling Troll (1 year ago)
This has to be the first game that really drew me in. So good. So atmospheric.
Ryan Olszyk (1 year ago)
Fallout 76 is lookin pretty good
Stereotype23 (1 year ago)
This is one of my favorite games of all time! Not sure how it holds up today though but a great story and soundtrack goes a long way.
Harney (1 year ago)
An amazing game
2ane (1 year ago)
Still one of the my most fondly remembered games. The whole action-sim genre with its complex missions during which you werent allowed to save was a blast and needs to make a proper comeback like classic RPGs did recently. btw, that Pistol is incredibly powerful as it allows you to shoot the drivers once the vehicle is in the "red" giving you more to salvage. Very useful with flame-throwers as they instantly destroy the armor of enemies.
Azraelle (1 year ago)
That dedicated poetry button reminds me of the reverend character from Call of Juarez, who had a bible in addition to his usual weapons. You could be walking down the street shooting gunslingers while quoting bible passages. Felt epic.
Lone Knight (1 year ago)
wait... is this a Vigilante 8 Pre-Quel?!
Raze Game Developer (1 year ago)
Hey LGR! Might I ask if you remember what setup you ran this on? I've never seen this game run with such a high framerate before
Mikko Kukkonen (1 year ago)
Wow, I played I76 a LOT back in the late 90s. I loved the theme and the music, my god was the music good! I was really into 70s stuff and muscle cars back then (owned a couple later on), and this game was perfect for me. I still got the case with the CDs stashed at my parents house, but sadly the original box is missing. I used to pop that game CD in my stereo from time to time and listen to that groovy funk.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.